Uncategorized

Valerie Cambronne Talks Life, Music, and Boys… with everyone.

During the summer of 2016, Valerie Cambronne was studying for the LSAT and applying to law schools. She’d created a schedule and wrote down her goals for this time in her life, but when the stress got to her she turned to sharing her feelings with the public. She started a blog.

What prompted you to start your blog?

I started blogging out of sheer boredom in the summer when I was living alone. My roommates were no longer there… or they weren’t there for the summer so that’s why I started blogging. I was bored and working a nine to five job and I was tired of being alone and I needed new ways to fill my time.

Do you schedule posts or do you let inspiration come to you?

No, I don’t schedule any of the posts that I write. Literally, everything I write has inspiration behind it. I can tell you what triggered me to write any of the posts and I think, in a sense, I hope to maintain genuineness throughout the blog so everything is authentic and nothing is written just for the sake of writing. It’s all written because something inspired me to do it.

img_9745

Cambronne’s blog logo

Music seems to be an important element in your posts. How does it link with the things you experience?

Music is definitely a big part of my life in general, not just the blog. I started making playlists before I started the blog, so I think making playlists was one hobby I had and blogging became another one, and I figured I could combine the two of them whether I write about music or include the playlists on the blog itself. I’ve put this on my blog before: music is a mood for me, so I always have it playing throughout the day— different artists, different genres of music— so it’s definitely a really big part of my life and it’s something I’d want to include in my blog since my blog is about my life.

Of the people you talk about in your posts, do you aim for them to read what you write?

Usually if I’m going to write about somebody in one of my posts they probably know that I wrote about them. I don’t directly tell them but I might talk about my friends and if my friends read it they know what I’m talking about, or I might talk about ex-flings and…I don’t know if they read it. I can check the stats and see how many people have seen the posts and there’s definitely a lot more people who’ve seen my blog than people I know. I’m sure some people I don’t know are reading it. And others can probably identify that it’s them that I’m talking about. Sometimes the experiences that I write about are really detailed so if you know me really well than you’ll know that I’m writing about you. Do I aim for them to read what I write? No, I started blogging and I kept it a secret. I only shared it with my friends… I mean I aimed for them to read it. Now, a lot more people can read it, and I don’t really care who reads the blog anymore.

Who is your target audience?

My target audience is my peers. I’m writing as a college student in college so I want people who are in college to read it. I think it makes the most sense if they do since I’m writing as a 21-year-old student I know a lot of other 21-year-olds, or people who are around my age who will be able to understand what I’m talking about. I let my mom read it once and she didn’t really get it, so I know there’s probably some generational differences that can be detected throughout the blog that I think older or younger generations may not understand. So the target audience is definitely people within my age group.

Leave a Reply

